Contributions to Scientific Research

Contributions to Scientific Research photo
On May 5, the Town of Babylon and Covanta Energy honored 12 Babylon School District students through the Covantage EcoTech Scholarship Program for their incredible contribution to the field of science research.

This program, open to any student residing within the Town of Babylon, focuses on scientific research done in the fields of sustainable energy or environmental-based research.

Five Babylon projects were awarded monetary scholarships – seniors Danish Farooq, Greg Kowalczyk and Michael Steffanetta won second place ($750); sophomores Erin Corcoran, Maddy Graham and Nikki Santucci won third ($500); sixth-grader Sara Womack won fourth place ($300), seniors Paige Bzdyk, Freddy Nocella and Sophia Sherman won sixth place ($175) and sophomores Madison Baudille and Kate Hannon won seventh place ($125 each).

Additionally, science teacher Andrew Sheltz was awarded this year’s Teacher Award for his positive impact on working with his students.  

“Congratulations to all who represented the Babylon science department so professionally,” said Babylon School District Director of Science Melissa Callahan. “We are looking forward to seeing next year’s projects from our younger students and wish our graduating research seniors luck in their college scientific endeavors.”