Magnificent Musicians

A number of student-musicians from both Babylon Memorial Grade School and the Babylon Junior-Senior High School recently secured a number of prominent musical accomplishments due to their robust musical talents and recommendations from teachers. 

Student-musicians from Babylon Memorial Grade School and Babylon Junior-Senior High School participated in the SCMEA All-County Festival which took place at Northport High School beginning on March 9. The district congratulates Babylon Memorial Grade School students Emmett Boxer (band), Lucas Bridges (orchestra), Julianne Goldstein (chorus), Owen Killeen (band), Allie Manetta (chorus), Katherine Orifici (chorus), Marena Onishi (orchestra), Sonia Romano (band) and Nathaniel Schubart (band); and Babylon Junior-Senior High School students Lucy Carnese (chorus), Anna Dempsey (chorus), Allison Fama (band), Owen Gaskill (orchestra), Emily Hoberman (orchestra), Derek Hulahan (band), Maya Knyper (chorus), Natalia Lutz (chorus), Patryk Makowski (orchestra), Matthew Minicozzi (band), Sachi Onishi (orchestra), Elizabeth Orifici (band), William Post (orchestra), Alice Schubart (orchestra), Ethan Schubart (orchestra), Mia Shek (band), Alyssa Silvestri (chorus), Megan Snyder (chorus) and Dominic Trivigno (chorus). 

Three Babylon Junior-Senior High School student-musicians were selected to participate with the SCMEA All-County Percussion Ensemble which is set to take place during the SCMEA Day of Percussion on Friday, May 3, at Mount Sinai High School. The district congratulates Sophia Levine-Aquino, Michael Horvath, and Matthew Minicozzi for their accomplishment. 

Additionally, Babylon Junior-Senior High School students Isabella Gaskill and Peter Schubart both advanced to the final round of the 2019 Music Lovers Scholarship Competition which was held at the United Methodist Church in Islip on Feb. 25. According to Director of Fine Arts and Music Angela Turk, both students sounded amazing during their performances. Due to his talents, Peter secured the first-place title and received a $2,000 scholarship.